Paris at the time of Philippe Auguste

The wall
in writing

A text from
F. Benveniste (2006)

Philippe-Auguste's wall is more than a rampart. It's a structure that fires the imagination, bringing the ghosts of medieval wars, the noise of battle and the harshness of bygone days suddenly bursting into the midst of modern-day Paris. It's still there, all around us, there to be seen in various locations, for those of us who know where to look. It is totally interwoven into our daily lives and we often rub shoulders with it without realising it. But for those who understand and can appreciate the context, it can be an uplifting, hidden oasis; the everyday ordinary city takes on an historical dimension. We begin to appreciate that these well-travelled, half-consciously-travelled streets, are in fact the result of a long, full and rich history that bids us to ponder on the past, the present, and indeed the future.

Built between 1190 and 1220 during the reign of Philippe-Auguste, this fortified structure was the second and final wall (after the Gallo-Roman wall that surrounded the 'île de la cité') to have had primarily a defensive function. Indeed subsequent walls would appear to be either partly-built (the wall of Charles V and Louis XIII) or 'fiscal' walls (Louis XIV's toll wall) or lines of modern fortifications (The 'fortif' of Thiers erected after the Commune of Paris 1871).

Philippe-Auguste's wall itself is a 'true' medieval wall with a walkway, battlements, fortified gates and round towers at regular intervals. There were towers encircling the city at this time. The Paris of 1230 somewhat resembled modern-day Carcassonne. Running for 2800 metres on the right bank, 2600 metres on the left bank, 3 metres thick at the base, 9 metres high and with a 14 metre high tower every 70 metres, the ramparts were an imposing fortification. For the western defences of the city, Philippe-Auguste had the medieval Louvre built, giving birth to the building that we know today. This work was funded out of his own pocket (the wall itself having been financed by the city).

The structure of the ramparts would turn out to be a key reason for their survival. They were constructed as two sturdy thick carefully matched-up walls, with the space in-between the two walls filled with small stones, mortar and bits of leftover building material. Parisians appreciated the benefits of this 'sandwich' construction. It's been a common fate for a large number of historical structures in Paris to end up as a source of building materials. However, when some centuries later, the wall was regarded as less important, instead of being destroyed, new structures were built up against existing parts of the wall, so re-using it and making considerable economic savings for the builders. Thus imprisoned between homes along a good portion of its route, the wall was able to survive for many centuries. Some small sections were, of course, destroyed during later periods, but not all. There are various surviving parts of the structure, some of which have only come to light in more recent times. After the Second World War a very well preserved stretch of about 50 metres of the wall and two towers was discovered on the Right Bank at rue des Jardins St Paul.

Another interesting feature about this structure is that it was built on an earlier ground level within the city. Today's street level, near the Seine is about 7 metres above the level of the original city. Hence the wall has ended up buried. At Rue Mazarine you have to go into an underground car park to see it. A little further on, in the courtyard of Commerce St André there is a complete tower enclosed within a shop. It can be viewed through the shop window !

In other districts, it's not the wall that can be seen but more recent structures that mark out and preserve the route. So, on the rue du Louvre on the Right Bank, an odd-looking wall can be seen in the shape of part of a circle. It's the outline of one of the wall's towers. At Rue du faubourg St Honoré and rue St André des Arts, if you look closely at the entrances to the building, you notice that the buildings are at a sharp angle to the road. The houses that once were built up against the wall were themselves built at this sharp angle to the road. Somewhat resembling dominoes, all the buildings in the district have this simple layout.

In this way, piece by piece, site by site, existent or disappeared, Philippe-Auguste's wall evokes directly or indirectly an almost vanished Paris, which in spite of everything, we can still identify with, across the centuries. And the Paris of this time was at least as ambitious and innovative as the city now hosting the Eiffel Tower, Beaubourg (home of the distinctive 'Centre Georges Pompidou') and the 'peripherique' (the Paris ring road). This section of the site "Paris during the time of Philippe-Auguste" is dedicated to the wall. It is also dedicated to those who still know how to dream and to those web-surfers who appreciate that we are as much a product of our history as we are of the present time.

Paris à l'époque de Philippe Auguste

Le mur
Les textes

Evocation de la muraille
par F. Benveniste

La muraille de Philippe Auguste est plus qu'un rempart : c'est une structure de rêve, qui fait surgir au milieu du Paris d'aujourd'hui les fantômes des guerres moyenâgeuses, les bruits de bataille, la rudesse de temps révolus. Elle est là, parmi nous, encore présente à de nombreux endroits pour qui sait la voir. Elle est totalement imbriquée dans notre quotidien et nous la côtoyons souvent sans le savoir. Mais pour ceux qui savent la reconnaître et l'évoquer, c'est un coin du voile qui se soulève : la ville banale prend une dimension historique. Nous réalisons que les rues parcourues de manière quasi-somnanbulesque sont en fait la résultante d'une histoire ancienne, dense et riche qui nous invite à méditer sur nos racines, notre présent, et notre avenir aussi bien.

Construite entre 1190 et 1220 sous le règne de Philippe Auguste, cet ouvrage fortifié est le second et dernier (après le mur Gallo Romain qui ceinturait l'île de la cité) à avoir eu une fonction défensive globale. En effet, les murs ultérieurs étaient soit des ouvrages partiels (muraille de Charles V et Louis XIII) soit des murs "fiscaux" (mur d'octroi de Louis XIV) soit les lignes de fortifications modernes ("fortif" de Thiers, érigées au milieu du 19e siècle).

Le mur de Philippe Auguste, lui, est une "vraie" muraille avec un chemin de ronde, des créneaux, des portes fortifiées, des tours rondes régulièrement espacées. Il faisait tour le tour de la ville de l'époque. Le Paris de 1230 ressemblait un peu au Carcassonne d'aujourd'hui. 2800m sur la rive droite, 2600m sur la rive gauche, 3m d'épaisseur à la base, 9m de hauteur et une tour de 14m de haut tous les 70 m, le rempart était une fortification imposante. Pour le défendre à l'Ouest Philippe Auguste fit ériger sur ses deniers (le mur, lui, était financé par la ville) le Louvre féodal qui devait donner naissance au bâtiment que nous connaissons aujourd'hui.

Lire la suite

La structure du rempart s'avéra être un élément clé pour sa survie :  composé de deux murs épais, solides et soigneusement appareillés, tout l'espace entre ces deux parois est rempli de petites pierres et de mortier que l'on peut assimiler à des quasi-débris. Cette conception "en sandwich" était connue des Parisiens. Quand, au fil des siècles, la muraille fut déclassée, au lieu d'être détruite (un sort commun à bon nombre de monuments de Paris qui terminèrent leur vie en servant de carrières), elle fit office d'assise à des constructions qui s'appuyèrent sur chacune de ses faces, permettant ainsi de notables économies aux entrepreneurs. Ainsi emprisonnée entre deux maisons sur une bonne partie de son parcours, la muraille survécut au fil des siècles. Les nouveaux îlots furent certes détruits quelques siècles plus tard, mais pas tous. Il subsiste ainsi des portions appréciables de la structure dont certaines furent mises à jour très tard. On "découvrit" après la deuxième guerre mondiale une cinquantaine de mètres de murs et deux tours très bien préservés, rue des Jardins St Paul, sur la rive droite.

Une autre particularité intéressante de cet ouvrage réside dans le fait qu'il fut construit sur le sol géologique de la ville. Aujourd'hui, près de la Seine, le niveau actuel de circulation est à près de 7 mètres au-dessus du terrain "réel" de l'agglomération. La muraille se retrouve donc enterrée. Rue Mazarine, sur la rive gauche, il faut descendre dans un parc souterrain de stationnement pour l'apercevoir. Un peu plus loin, dans la cour du Commerce St André, c'est une tour intacte qui est emprisonnée dans un magasin : on l'aperçoit au travers de la vitrine !

A d'autres endroits, ce n'est pas la muraille qu'on voit, mais des constructions plus récentes qui l'entourèrent et en conservent la trace. Ainsi, rue du Louvre sur la rive droite, on peut observer depuis le trottoir un mur étrange qui forme un tiers de cercle : c'est la trace d'une des tours de la muraille. Rue du faubourg St Honoré et rue St André des Arts, si l'on regarde de près les entrées des immeubles, on se rend compte que les murs des immeubles forment un angle aigu avec la chaussée : c'est que ces maisons s'appuyaient sur la muraille qui elle même formait un angle avec la rue. Tels des dominos, ce sont tous les immeubles aux alentours qui adoptent ce plan peu banal

Ansi, de morceaux en morceaux, d'emplacements en emplacements, présente ou disparue, la muraille de Philippe Auguste évoque directement ou indirectement un Paris presque évanoui qui tente malgré tout de nous faire signe par-dessus les siècles. Et ce Paris là était à son époque au moins aussi ambitieux ou novateur que la ville qui abrite la Tour Eiffel, Beaubourg et le boulevard périphérique. Cette section du site de "Paris au temps de Philippe Auguste" est dédiée au rempart. Elle est aussi consacrée à ceux qui savent encore rêver et qui, tout Internautes qu'ils soient, acceptent que leur identité se fonde aussi bien sur la modernité que sur la nostalgie.